Monday, October 11, 2010

Elsie's Bird

Elsie's Bird
by Jane Yolen
illustrated by David Small

In the tradition of "Sarah, Plain and Tall" and "The Gardener" comes a poetic, vividly rendered book about finding one's place in the world.

Philomel Books, 2010.

1 comment:

Kris said...

This title was suggested by a reader of this blog, who said "...the pictures have a luminous quality
and draw you immediately in. I particularly liked the 2 page spread of
Elsie on the caboose of the train, looking ahead at the horizon..."

I agree that this book is a beautifully illustrated book, perhaps even a Caldecott contender.