Saturday, January 10, 2009

2009 ACPL Mock Caldecott Award Winner and Honor Books

This morning, in spite of winter storm warnings and freezing rain here in northern Indiana, a group of 14 enthusiastic picture book-lovers gathered to discuss and vote on our choices for our annual Mock Caldecott Award. Many interesting points were brought up regarding collective unity, placement of text, color choices and design styles, but when all was decided, the results were:


2009 ACPL Mock Caldecott Winner:
Wabi Sabi, illustrated by Ed Young, written by Mark Reibstein

2009 ACPL Mock Caldecott Honor Books:
Jumpy Jack and Googily, illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Meg Rosoff
In a Blue Room, illustrated by Tricia Tusa, written by Jim Averbeck

Many thanks go out to EVERYONE who contributed to our Mock Caldecott discussion, either online, or in person!

No comments: